Tuesday, December 25, 2007

Indian Panorama Films in International Film Festival of India - 2007

The two juries for feature and non feature films headed by renowned filmmakers K S Sethumadhavan and Arun Khopkar selected 21 feature films from eight languages and 15 non-feature films for the Indian Panorama section of the forthcoming 38th International Film Festival of India starting on 23rd November in Goa . RATRI MAZHA (Night Rain- Malayalam) directed by Lenin Rajendran and and Samir Chanda’s EK NADIR GALPO (Bengali) will represent the country at the Asian, African and Latin American Competition of the Festival. ORE KADAL (Malayalam) directed by Shyamaprasad will open the Indian Panorama feature film section and BAGHER BACHA (Bengali) directed by Bishnu Dev Halder will open the non-feature section.The films in the features selection include five Malayalam, four Marathi, three each in Kannada and Bengali, two each in Hindi and Tamil, and one each in Assamese and Manipuri. The non-features include six in Hindi, four in Malayalam, three in English, and one each in Bengali and Manipuri.Both renowned filmmakers Adoor Gopalakrishnan and Buddhadeb Dasgupta have films in both the feature and non-feature sections. The films by Adoor Gopalakrishnan are NAALU PENNUNGAL and THE DANCE OF THE ENCHANTRESS and and those of Dasgupta AMI, IYASIN AR AMAR MADHUBALA and NAUSHAD ALI - THE MELODY CONTINUES, The selections were made out of 119 feature and 149 non-feature films. The members of the feature film jury were filmmakers Manju Borah from Guwahati, Leslie Carvalho from Bangalore, Abhijeet Dasgupta from Kolkata, Dr. Mrunalinni Patil Dayal from Mumbai, and Delhi critic Shubhra Gupta. The non-feature film jury comprised Delhi filmmaker Pankaj Butalia, Mumbai filmmaker Kavita Chaudhary, and Guwahati filmmaker Gautam Saikia.

No comments: