Sunday, February 9, 2020

MeeraSahib Online: 70th Berlin International Film Festival 2020-Rima ...

MeeraSahib Online: 70th Berlin International Film Festival 2020-Rima ...:   National Award-winning filmmaker Rima Das to be part of Generation 14plus International Jury at the prestigious Berlin International...

70th Berlin International Film Festival 2020-Rima Das in 70th Berlinale 14plus International Jury..

 National Award-winning filmmaker Rima Das to be part of Generation 14plus International Jury at the prestigious Berlin International Film Festival 2020. The other jury members for the 14plus category are Iran’s Abbas Amini and South Africa’s Jenna Bass.

"Being on the jury of Berlin International Film Festival is a huge honour and responsibility. I feel blessed that I have got this opportunity at an early stage in my journey. It's only last year that Bulbul Can Sing was part of Generation 14 Plus. This is even more special since the Generation section showcases films for children and youth, which are very close to my heart. I hope more filmmakers in India as well are inspired to make films for children and youth.", She shared her joy with Loudspeaker Media.

The 14plus International Jury f.l.t.r.: Abbas Amini, Jenna Bass, Rima Das
Abbas Amini (Iran)
Abbas Amini has been a filmmaker since he was 13. Living and working in Tehran, he is actively committed to the protection of human rights. In particular, he is a dedicated opponent of child labour, as demonstrated by his artistic work and engagement in the NGO “Association for the Protection of Child Labourers (APCL)”. His two films Valderama (2016) and Hendi va Hormoz (Hendi & Hormoz, 2018), both of which tell about the lives of young Iranians, were shown at Generation 14plus.
Jenna Bass (South Africa)
Jenna Bass lives in South Africa and works as a writer and filmmaker, and she is also former magician. Her award-winning films include The Tunnel (2010) as well as Love the One You Love (2014) and High Fantasy (2017), both developed in a collective. High Fantasy premiered in 2018 at Generation 14plus. Her third feature film, Flatland, was the opening film of Panorama in 2019. Most recently, she completed the short film Sizohlala, which was produced by Jia Zhang-Ke.
Rima Das (India)
As a self-taught cinematic all-rounder and as an advocate for gender equality, Rima Das was recognised by GQ India as one of the “Most Influential Young Indians 2018”. Her film Village Rockstars premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival 2017 and subsequently received the Indian Film Award. With Bulbul Can Sing, for which she was responsible for the script, direction, camera, montage, production design and production, she was a guest at Generation 14plus last year and received a Special Mention from the 14plus International Jury.

Friday, December 13, 2019

MeeraSahib Online: 24th IFFK Awards-The Golden Crow Pheasant Award fo...

MeeraSahib Online: 24th IFFK Awards-The Golden Crow Pheasant Award fo...: The Golden Crow Pheasant  Award  for the Best film - Aru Sendo No Hanashi directed by Jō Odagiri from Japan.(The Golden Crow Pheasant Awa...

24th IFFK Awards-The Golden Crow Pheasant Award for the Best film went to Aru Sendo No Hanashi directed by Jō Odagiri from Japan.

  • The Golden Crow Pheasant Award for the Best film - Aru Sendo No Hanashi directed by Jō Odagiri from Japan. (The Golden Crow Pheasant Award with a cash prize of INR 20 lakhs for the Best Feature Film to be shared equally between the Director and the Producer.)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Fernando Solanas from Argentina.New Project (15).jpg
  • Fahim Irshad's bagged two Rajatha Chakoram awards for  his film ‘Aani Maani’ 
  • Jallikattu wins audience prize and special jury mention.
  • Pacarrete’,  Brazilian film directed by Allan Deberton, won the Rajatha Chakoram (Silver Crow Pheasant) award for the best director.
  • The Rajatha Chakoram award for the best debut director was given to Cesar Diaz for ‘Our Mothers’
  • Japanese film ‘They say nothing stays the same’ directed by Joe Odagiri, won the Suvarna Chakoram (Golden Crow Pheasant) award at the 24th edition of  International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) which concluded at Thiruvananthapuram. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to  Fernando Solanas, Argentine filmmaker,Pacarrete’,  Brazilian film  directed by Allan Deberton, won the Rajatha Chakoram (Silver Crow Pheasant) award for the best director.  The Rajatha Chakoram award for the best debut director was given to Cesar Diaz for ‘Our Mothers’, a Guatemalan film.  Lijo Jose Pellissery won the Rajatha Chakoram Audience Prize for  Jallikattu. The film also won the special jury mention in the competition category. Best Malayalam film Pani, directed by SanthoshMandoor,  won the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) award for the best Malayalam movie.  The FIPRESCI award for the best film in competition was won by Camille, directed by Boris Lojkine. Aani Maani, directed by Fahim Irshad,  won the Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) award for the best Asian film in the competition category. It also won the K.R. Mohanan Endowment Award for best debut director from India, instituted by the Federation of Film Societies of India.  Bijukumar Damodaran’s Veyilmarangal, won the NETPAC award for the best Malayalam film,  while Kumbalangi Nights, directed by Madhu C. Narayanan won the NETPAC special jury mention. The awards were presented by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan at the valedictory function held at Nishagandhi Auditorium, Thiruvananthapuram.
Image result for joe odagiriThey Say Nothing Stays the Same24th IFFK Awards
Image result for Pani malayalam film movie Santhosh Mandoor 2019