Thursday, February 28, 2013

Steven Spielberg to head 66th edition of Cannes Film Festival Jury

Steven Spielberg has been chosen to head up the jury at this year's Cannes Film Festival.Festival organizers said late Wednesday night that the Oscar-winning director will serve as jury president at the event's 66th edition, which runs May 15-26.

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Critics Prize (Fipresci Prize) at Berlinale won by Child's Pose ,Inch' Allah and Helio Oiticia

At the Berlin International Film Festival(Berlinale, Germany, February 7-17, 2013)the Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) has been presented to: "Child's Pose" (Pozitia copilului) directed by Calin Peter Netzer (Romania, 2013 , shown in competition),"Inch'Allah" directed by Anais Barbeau-Lavalette (Canada, France, 2012),(programmed in the Panorama section)and "Hélio Oiticica" directed by Cesar Oiticica Filho (Brazil, 2012) (International Forum of New Cinema)Jury members were: Alin Tasciyan, Turkey, president ,Mohammed Rouda (Great Britain), Mode Steinkjer (Norway), Ninos Feneck Mikelides (Greece), Baptiste Etchegaray (France), Eberhard von Elterlein (Germany), Dana Linssen (The Netherland, Anjelika Artyukh (Russia), Christoph Schmitz, (Germany).


Sunday, February 10, 2013

7th SIGNS digital film festival inaugurated

The 7th signs documentary and short film festival 2013 was  inaugurated  today at Co Bank Towers,Thiruvananthapuram .Girish Kasaravalli ,the renowned film maker inagurated the five day  digital film festival in the presence of K.P.Kumaran, renowned film director, Amrit Ganger,the well known film critic and writer, K.R.Mohanan, FFSI  president, Dr C.S.Venkiteswaran ,writer& Artistic Director of the festival and K.G.Mohankumar,FFSI ,N.N.Rimson ,Principal ,College of Fine Arts etc. AI WEIWEL-Never Sorry , a 91 mts docu directed by Alison Klayman was the inaugural  film.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Alin Tasciyan will head the jury FIPRESCI for Critics Prizes at Berlinale

Turkish critic Alin Tasciyan will head the critics jury - jury FIPRESCI- at the forthcoming Berlin International Film Festival (February 7-17, 2013). The jury will present three prizes, for best films in each the International Competition, the Panorama section and the International Forum of New Cinema.Jury members are: Alin Tasciyan (Turkey, president), Mohammed Rouda (Great Britain), Mode Steinkjer (Norway), Ninos Feneck Mikelides (Greece), Baptiste Etchegaray (France), Eberhard von Elterlein (Germany), Dana Linssen (The Netherlands), Anjelika Artyuk (Russia) and Christoph Schmitz (Germany).The award ceremony will be organized together with Europa Cinemas.: on Friday, February 15, 2013.
 Talent Press 2013
From ten years, FIPRESCI co-organizes "Talent Press", a workshop for young film critics in the framework of the Berlinale Talent Campus. This year, the tenth generation of future film critics is expected. Supported by renowned film critics, they will write reviews on films, compose features, reports, interviews.

Monday, February 4, 2013

"Northwest" (Nordvest) by Michael Noer won Critics’ Prize (FIPRESCI) at Göteborg

"Northwest" (Nordvest) by Michael Noer (Denmark, 2013), presented in the "Best Nordic Film"" section of Göteborg International Film Festival (Sweden, January 25 – February 4, 2013)  won the Critics’ Prize (FIPRESCI).Jury cited that the film won this prestigious award "For its solid acting performances and its balanced and realistic portrayal of a young man's descent into a criminal world."   FIPRESI Jury comprised of: Oscar Peyrou, Spain, Katja Cicigoj, Slovenia, Alison Frank, UK.

"The Fifth Gospel of Kaspar Hauser" by Alberto Gracia bags Critics’ Prize (FIPRESCI) at Rotterdam

"The Fifth Gospel of Kaspar Hauser" (O quinto evanxeo de Gaspar Hauser) by Alberto Gracia (Spain, 2013), shown in the "Bright Future" section of Rotterdam InternationalFilm Festival (The Netherlands, January 23 – February 3, 2013) won the Critics’ Prize (FIPRESCI). The jury appreciated "Alberto Gracia's radical and audacious desire to capture the world as seen through the eyes of a legendary, rebel madman".   Jury comprised of : Diego Lerer, Argentina, president , Robert Koehler, USA, Boris Nelepo, Russia, Ms. NAM Da-Eun, South Korea, Ronald Rovers, Netherlands