Saturday, March 21, 2020

73rd Cannes Film Festival 2020 postponed.

France’s Cannes Film Festival, arguably the world’s most prestigious film festival and cinema’s largest annual gathering, has postponed its 73rd edition due to the coronavirus pandemic. The Festival de Cannes Team announced on the other day that "At this time of global health crisis, our thoughts go to the victims of the COVID-19 and we express our solidarity with all of those who are fighting the disease....we have made the following decision: The Festival de Cannes cannot be held on the scheduled dates, from May 12 to 23. Several options are considered in order to preserve its running, the main one being a simple postponement, in Cannes, until the end of June-beginning of July 2020." 

Tuesday, March 3, 2020

70th Berlin Film Festival 2020 -Mohammad Rasoulof won the Golden Bear for his film “There Is No Evil”

BERLIN FILM FESTIVAL 2020 LOGO എന്നതിനുള്ള ചിത്ര ഫലം
70th Berlin Film Festival 2020 Awardee list
Jury President Jeremy Irons (L) and Berenice Bejo during the Closing and Awards Ceremony of the 70th annual Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale), in Berlin, Germany, 29 February 2020. The Berlinale runs from 20 February to 01 March 2020.Closing and Awards Ceremony - 70th Berlin Film Festival, Germany - 29 Feb 2020
Golden Bear: “There Is No Evil,” Mohammad Rasoulof
Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize: “Never Rarely Sometimes Always,” Eliza Hittman
Silver Bear for Best Director: Hong Sang-soo, “The Woman Who Ran”
Silver Bear for Best Actress: Paula Beer, “Undine”
Silver Bear for Best Actor: Elio Germano, “Hidden Away”
Silver Bear for Best Screenplay: “Favolacce,” Fabio D’Innocenzo and Damiano D’Innocenzo
Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution: Jürgen Jürges for cinematography on “DAU. Natasha”
Silver Bear Special Prize: “Delete History,” Benoît Delépine and Gustave Kervern
Best Film in the Encounters Competition: “The Works and Days (of Tayoko Shiojiri in the Shiotani Basin),” C.W. Winter and Anders Edström
Special Jury Award in the Encounters Competition: “The Trouble With Being Born,” Sandra Wollner
Best Director in the Encounters Competition: Cristi Puiu, “Malmkrog”
Special Mention by the Encounters Jury: “Isabella, Matías Piñeiro
Berlinale Documentary Award: “Irradiés,” Rithy Panh
Special Mention by the Jury for the Berlinale Documentary Award: “Notes From the Underworld,” Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel
Special Mention by the GWFF Best First Feature Award Jury: “Nackte Tiere,” Melanie Waelde     
GWFF Best First Feature Award: “Los conductos,” Camilo Restrepo
Golden Bear for Best Short Film: “T,” Keisha Rae Witherspoon
Audi Short Film Award: “Genius Loci,” Adrien Mérigeau
Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film): “Filipiñana,” Rafael Manuel
Special Mention of the International Jury Generation Kplus: “The Kites,” Seyed Payam Hosseini
Special Prize of the International Jury in Generation Kplus for the Best Short Film: “El nombre del hijo,” Martina Matzkin
Grand Prix of the International Jury in Generation Kplus for the Best Film: “Los Lobos,” Samuel Kishi Leopo
Special Mentions of the International Jury Generation Kplus: “Mignonnes,” Maïmouna Doucouré; “Mamá, mamá, mamá,” Sol Berruezo Pichon-Rivière
Panorama Audience Award for Best Documentary: “Welcome to Chechnya”
Panorama Audience Award for Best Feature Film: “Otac,” Srdan Golubović
Compass-Perspektive-Award: “Walchensee Forever,” Janna Ji Wonders

Sunday, February 9, 2020

MeeraSahib Online: 70th Berlin International Film Festival 2020-Rima ...

MeeraSahib Online: 70th Berlin International Film Festival 2020-Rima ...:   National Award-winning filmmaker Rima Das to be part of Generation 14plus International Jury at the prestigious Berlin International...

70th Berlin International Film Festival 2020-Rima Das in 70th Berlinale 14plus International Jury..

 National Award-winning filmmaker Rima Das to be part of Generation 14plus International Jury at the prestigious Berlin International Film Festival 2020. The other jury members for the 14plus category are Iran’s Abbas Amini and South Africa’s Jenna Bass.

"Being on the jury of Berlin International Film Festival is a huge honour and responsibility. I feel blessed that I have got this opportunity at an early stage in my journey. It's only last year that Bulbul Can Sing was part of Generation 14 Plus. This is even more special since the Generation section showcases films for children and youth, which are very close to my heart. I hope more filmmakers in India as well are inspired to make films for children and youth.", She shared her joy with Loudspeaker Media.

The 14plus International Jury f.l.t.r.: Abbas Amini, Jenna Bass, Rima Das
Abbas Amini (Iran)
Abbas Amini has been a filmmaker since he was 13. Living and working in Tehran, he is actively committed to the protection of human rights. In particular, he is a dedicated opponent of child labour, as demonstrated by his artistic work and engagement in the NGO “Association for the Protection of Child Labourers (APCL)”. His two films Valderama (2016) and Hendi va Hormoz (Hendi & Hormoz, 2018), both of which tell about the lives of young Iranians, were shown at Generation 14plus.
Jenna Bass (South Africa)
Jenna Bass lives in South Africa and works as a writer and filmmaker, and she is also former magician. Her award-winning films include The Tunnel (2010) as well as Love the One You Love (2014) and High Fantasy (2017), both developed in a collective. High Fantasy premiered in 2018 at Generation 14plus. Her third feature film, Flatland, was the opening film of Panorama in 2019. Most recently, she completed the short film Sizohlala, which was produced by Jia Zhang-Ke.
Rima Das (India)
As a self-taught cinematic all-rounder and as an advocate for gender equality, Rima Das was recognised by GQ India as one of the “Most Influential Young Indians 2018”. Her film Village Rockstars premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival 2017 and subsequently received the Indian Film Award. With Bulbul Can Sing, for which she was responsible for the script, direction, camera, montage, production design and production, she was a guest at Generation 14plus last year and received a Special Mention from the 14plus International Jury.