Thursday, November 28, 2019

50th IFFI 2019 -‘Particles’ wins the Golden Peacock Award for best film and Lijo Jose Pellissery conferred as Best Director


Image result for iffi logo 2019Image result for iffi logo 2019

Image result for particle film by Blaise Harrison

    Image result for jallikattu film stills
  • ‘Particles’ wins the Golden Peacock Award.
  • Lijo Jose Pellissery conferred Best Director Award for ‘Jallikattu’ 
  •  Seu Jorge gets Best Actor (Male) Award 
  • Usha Jadhav gets Best Actor (Female) Award
  •  Special Jury Award for Pema Tseden’s ‘Balloon’ 
  • Amin Sidi Boumediene and Marius Olteanu receives Award for ‘Best Debut Feature Film of a Director’ for ‘Abou Leila’ and ‘Monsters’ 
  • Special mention for ‘Hellaro’ 
    directed by Abhishek Shah. 
  • Rwanda’ won  The ICFT –UNESCO Gandhi Medal 

The coveted Golden Peacock Award of golden jubilee edition of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI), goes to ‘Particles’ directed by Blaise Harrison and produced by Estelle Fialon. The Golden Peacock Award carries a cash prize of Rs 40 lakhs to be shared equally between the Director and the Producer, Trophy and the citation. ‘Particles’ is an “ambitious yet modest film about the mysteries of being a teenager,” the jury cited. Lijo Jose Pellissery conferred Best Director Award for ‘Jallikattu’.Lijo Jose Pellissery won the Best Director Award for his film ‘Jallikattu’. The jury said that they honor the “intricate and complex choreography of this very original and anarchic film”. Lijo gets the Silver Peacock Award , a citation and a cash prize of 15 lakhs.

 . Image result for Brazilian movie ‘Marighella’
Seu Jorge won the the Best Actor (Male) Award for his portrayal of Carlos Marighella in the Brazilian movie ‘Marighella’. He bagged the award containing Silver Peacock Trophy, certificate and a cash prize of Rs 10 lakhs for “ the powerful and charismatic portrayal of a revolutionary, very relevant in our increasingly authoritarian times”. 
The Best Actor (Female) Award has gone to Usha Jadhav for her portrayal of  ‘Prabha Mai’, in the Marathi film ‘Mai Ghatt: Crime No. 103/2005’. Usha Jadhav got the coveted prize for her “understated and powerful performance of a mother defending her child’s honor against the injustice of a corrupt system”. Award includes Silver Peacock Trophy, certificate and a cash prize of Rs 10 lakhs. 
The jury awarded special jury prize to Pema Tseden his film ‘Balloon’. The film set in Tibetan grasslands got the prize for “the beauty of the film language and the authenticity of the actors”. The Special Jury Award carries a cash prize of Rs 15 lakhs, a Silver Peacock Award and a citation. 
Centenary Award for ‘Best Debut Feature Film of a Director’ is shared between Amin Sidi Boumediene for ‘Abou Leila’ and Marius Olteanu for ‘Monsters’. Abou Leila’ tells the tale of two childhood friends who crossed the desert in search of Abu Leila, a dangerous terrorist. Award carries Silver Peacock, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakhs 
 ‘Hellaro’ directed by Abhishek Shah earned special mention from the jury for the “incredible music, it’s colour and graceful choreography”. Though set in time 45 years ago, the issue of woman’s empowerment portrayed in the film is even more relevant today, said the jury.  
 Italian film ‘Rwanda’ directed by Riccardo Salvetti won The ICFT –UNESCO Gandhi Medal instituted by the International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication, Paris and UNESCO. The medal bears a portrait of Gandhi engraved by the French artist Pierre-Yves Tremois. Etched underneath is Mahatma’s message of hope: “ In the midst of darkness light prevails” 
‘Bahattar Hoorain, the Indian movie directed by Sanjay P. Singh Chauhan earned the special mention under ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi medal category.

No comments: