Saturday, October 19, 2019

50th IFFI 2019 -Five member International Jury headed by John Bailey.

Image result for 50th iffi 2019

Image result for 50th iffi 2019

John Bailey heads the International Jury for 50th IFFI 2019.

 John Bailey, Cinematographer, and Ex. President of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences will chair the International Jury of 50th International Film Festival of India (IFFI). French filmmaker Mr. Robin Campillo who was also a member of the Cannes International Jury 2019, renowned Chinese filmmaker Mr. Zhang Yang and Ms. Lynne Ramsay, who is one of the leading lights of young British cinema will be the co-jurors. Eminent Filmmaker, Ramesh Sippy is an Indian member in the International Jury.


John Bailey - IFFI 2019 International Jury
Cinematographer and Ex-President, Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences
John Ira Bailey, ASC is an American cinematographer and film director known for his collaborations with directors Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Michael Apted, and Ken Kwapis. In August 2017, Bailey was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. In 1985, Bailey shared the Cannes Film Festival Best Artistic Contribution Award with Eiko Ishioka and Philip Glass for Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters. He was nominated for the Independent Spirit Award for Best Cinematography for Tough Guys Don’t Dance and the Camerimage Golden Frog Award for Best Cinematography for Forever Mine. He is a member of the American Society of Cinematographers and a member of the jury at the Venice Film Festival in 1987.  He is a veteran documentary cameraman. Bailey’s credits as a director include The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe, China Moon, Mariette in Ecstasy, and Via Dolorosa. Bailey has been married to film editor Carol Littleton since March 1972. He is well known for his collaborations with directors Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Michael Apted, and Ken Kwapis.

 Robin Campillo (Member)

Robin Campillo - IFFI 2019 International Jury
Robin Campillo is a French filmmaker born in Morocco in 1962.  In 1983 he enrolled in the IDHEC (Institute for Advanced Cinema Studies) film school. After graduating, however, he took a break from his film career to dedicate his time to the fight against AIDS. Finally, in the mid-1990s, he began a long and fruitful collaboration with Laurent Cantet as co-screenwriter and editor. In 2004 Robin Campillo directed his first feature film THEY CAME BACK.Eastern Boys, his second feature film, received the Orizzonti Prize for Best Film at the Venice Film Festival, and was nominated at the 2015 César Awards in the Best Film and Best director categories. His most recent feature film, 120 BPM, a fictional work depicting the Act Up years; presented in Competition at the Festival de Cannes 2017, won the Grand Prix.

 Zhang Yang (Member)

Zhang Yang - IFFI 2019 International Jury
Born in  in Beijing, Zhang Yang has long been a groundbreaking independent filmmaker. His low-budget 1997 directorial and screenwriting debut, Spicy Love Soup, was among the very first contemporary Beijing romances to succeed at the domestic box office. The film was screened at the Tokyo International Film Festival, heralding the arrival on the world stage of movies about modern-day China. His honest portrayals of Chinese life and his realistic style won him acclaim in China and abroad for his 1999 independent production Shower, followed with Quitting (2001), and the dark comedy Getting Home (2007). More recently, Zhang’s thought-provoking Soul on a String (2016) was nominated for Best Adapted Screenplay at the Golden Horse Awards.  In 2015, the Museum of Modern Art in New York screened Paths of the Soul, his Tibetan-language film about spiritual and redemptive pilgrimage.

 Lynne Ramsay (Member)

Lynne Ramsay - IFFI 2019 International Jury
With only four features and a handful of shorts over a 20-year career, Lynne Ramsay has nevertheless established herself as one of the most compelling and original voices in contemporary international cinema. Three years after her graduation from the UK’s National Film and Television School, her debut feature, Ratcatcher, screened in the Un Certain Regard section at Cannes and won recognition and critical acclaim worldwide; another three years later, she returned to Cannes with Morvern Callar, which received two prizes in the Directors Fortnight.  

Ramesh Sippy (Member)

Ramesh Sippy - IFFI 2019 International Jury
Ramesh Sippy is one of the major Hindi film-makers of the 1970s. Ramesh Sippy debuted as a director with Andaz(1971) followed by the SeetaAurGeeta and  Sholay (1975), which set the benchmark for commercial success in Hindi cinema. He also directed one of the most popular TV serials in India, Buniyaad.  He was elected the president of the Film and Television Producers Guild of India in 2010. He was conferred with the Padma Shri in 2013.

No comments: