Saturday, July 2, 2011

Padmarajan Award For Short Story And Cinema 2010

The 19th Padmarajan Awards for Best Short Story and Cinema 2010 were distributed on May 23, the birth anniversary day of P Padmarajan at the Kalabhavan Theatre.Ashokan Charuvil's ‘Amazon' published in Malayalam in the 2010 Mathrubhumi weekly was selected the best short story of the year. The award includes a cash prize of Rs. 10,000. It is the highest award given to a short story in India. The award for best Cinema of 2010 went to ‘Chitra Sootram', written and directed by Vipin Vijay. Vipin Vijay received a cash award of Rs.20,000 for the best Director and Rs.10,000 for best script writer. The film was produced by ‘Unknown Films’. These awards were constituted by the Padmarajan Memorial Trust in the name of writer and director P Padmarajan. A jury comprising Dr. K S Ravikumar (Chairman), P K Rajashekharan and Adv. B Babuprasad MLA selected Amazon as the best short story while the panel Chaired by A. Meera Sahib, selected the best cinema, members of the jury for cinema include Baiju Chandran and K C Chandrahasan.

No comments: