Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Top 20 feature films of Indian Cinema in the past 96 years of its existence

The nation-wide contest, which was launched on November 10, is a major initiative by Entertainment Society of Goa (ESG) and the International Film Festival of India (IFFI). The contest, the first-of-its-kind to involve the whole country into rating the top 20 feature films of Indian Cinema in the past 96 years of its existence. The initiative is part of a special contest commemorating the 40th edition of IFFI this year, in which any film lover from any part of the country can send in his or her list of 20 best-ever Indian films .The evaluation criterion is that the 20 choices received from the film directors and film critics will be merged to arrive at a master choice. The twenty participant's choices matching with this master choice will be declared winners. Around 1.9 million people participated in the voting according to Manoj Srivastava ,CEO of ESG. The names of the films would be declared on the award ceremony on 3rd December. The results are available now.
1. Meghe Dhaka Tara -Ritwik Ghatak
2. Charulata -Satyajit Ray
3. Pather Panchali -Satyajit Ray
4. Sholay -Ramesh Sippy
5. Do Bhiga Jamin -Bimal Roy
6. Pyasa- Gurudath
7. Bhuvan Shoma- Mrinal Sen
8. Garam Garam Hawa – M.S.Sathyu
9. Mother India- Mehaboob khan
10. Ghataskrada- Girish Kassaravalli
11. Ellipathayam- Adoor Gopalakrishnan
12. Mughale Azam – K.Asif
13. Nayagan- Maniratnam
14. Kagaz Ke Phool- Gurudath
15. Apu Triology- Satyajit Ray
16. Sant Tukaram- V. Damle and S. Fattelal
17. Jane Bi Do Yaro- Kundan Shah
18. Guide-Vijay Anand
19. Madhumati –Bimal Roy
20. Anand- Hrishikesh Mukherjee.
and the Winners are:
1. Manish Agarwal, Jaipur
2. Ram Kishen Adig, Jaipur
3. Pranesh V. Managoli, Nagpur
4. Anita H. Baltilak, Akola, Nagpur
5. Sidharth Prakash, Bangalore
6. Sucheta Jalawadi, Belgaum

No comments: