Monday, January 7, 2008

Pune International Film Festival (PIFF) , 2008

The sixth edition of the Pune International Film Festival will open at Ganesh Kala Krida Rangmanch , Pune with conferring of Lifetime Achievement awards on veteran actors Sharmila Tagore and Shammi Kapoor on January 10."Teeth of Love" from China directed by Zhuang Yuxin would be the inaugural film of the festival, festival Director Dr Jabbar Patel said. "Teeth of Love " tells the story of two decades of social flux in China through the experiences of a woman named Kwan Yong. The festival will show case around 170 films from 40 countries. Other highlights of this edition of PIFF will be the screening of seven comedy films from Europe , the 'Indian panorama' section with 15 films from Indian languages, and six "Best of Mainstream Hindi Cinema" of 2007, Dr. Patel said. The venues are E-Square, Inox, Ganesh Kala Kreeda Rangmanch and National Film Archives of India (NFAI). Besides cash awards given by the state government, 'Whistling Woods International,' established by noted film director Subhash Ghai, has announced four cash awards for winners in the students' film competition section. The best student's film will get $ 2000 while three cash awards of $ 1000 each will be given for best director, best screen play and best animation film. The Maharashtra Government has instituted 'Prabhat award' with Rs 10 lakh cash to the best international film shown in PIFF. The Prabhat award for best international director and the ’ Sant Tukaram ‘ , best international Marathi film awards have also been instituted by the state government with cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each. The Information and Broadcasting Ministry, Government of Maharashtra, Pune Municipal Corporation, National Film Development Corporation, NFAI, Maxmueller Bhavan, Alliance Francaise, Film and Television Institute of India and Whistling Woods International will be actively associating within the 8-day event. The committee is headed by city MP Suresh Kalmadi followed by noted film director Jabbar Patel as Festival Director, Sabina Sanghvi as vice-chairperson and advisory board comprising Yash Chopra, Subhash Ghai, Hema Malini, Manmohan Shetty, Sham Shroff, Nitin Manmohan and Milton Shefter (US).

No comments: